Wage & Hour Violations Attorney in Los Angeles
Protecting California Workers from Wage Theft
California is among the best places in the country to be an employee. While both federal and state law provide protections for workers, California’s statutes go further than federal law and the laws of most other states. If you are not being paid fairly, it is possible your employer is breaking the law. At Frontier, our Los Angeles wage & hour violation lawyers can help you identify if you have a case and work with you to obtain the best possible outcome for your employment law dispute.
Your Rights to Fair Wages Under California Law
Some of the most common wage and hour protections for California employees include:
- Minimum wage requirements
- Overtime pay requirements
- Mandatory meal and rest break provisions
- Protection for employees misclassified as independent contractors
Common Employer Wage & Hour Violations in Los Angeles
There are common violations that employers commit, this includes meeting minimum wage requirements, not meeting wages specified in contracts, or failing to reimburse for work related expenses.
The Federal law sets the minimum wage for most employees at $7.25 per hour, but California sets the bar higher. For most employers with 25 or fewer employees, the California minimum wage is $10.50 per hour as of 2018. For larger employers, the minimum is $11.00 per hour.
In some areas, local law requires higher wages. For example, in Los Angeles County, small employers must pay at least $12.00 per hour. Those with 26 or more employees are required to pay at least $13.25 per hour.
For updated minimum wage information, please contact us directly.
Meal Break & Rest Period Requirements
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not require an employer to offer breaks or meal periods. However, California law is much stricter. In California, non-exempt (hourly) employees are entitled to a meal break of at least 30 minutes and one paid 10-minute rest period if they work longer than 5 hours.
The meal period requirement may be waived for employees who work between 5-6 hours, but only by mutual agreement. And, the meal break cannot be waived if the shift is longer than 6 hours. Additional breaks and rest periods are required for longer shifts and are determined by the number of hours worked.
Meal Break & Rest Period Violations
During these breaks, employees must be relieved of all responsibilities and be free to leave the premises. The only exceptions are when circumstances make that impossible and an on-duty meal break agreement exists. For example, an “on duty meal” might be appropriate for a lone security guard in a remote location. However, employees who are not relieved of all duties during their meal breaks must be paid for that time.
Employers may violate meal break and rest period requirements in many different ways, including:
- Not providing required meal breaks or rest periods
- Failing to relieve employees of all duties during unpaid meal breaks
- Requiring employees to remain on the premises during breaks
Overtime Pay Requirements
Both state and federal law mandate that non-exempt employees be paid at a higher rate for overtime. However, the specifics of that calculation differ. Federal law requires only that hours in excess of 40 per week be paid at 1.5 times the regular rate of pay. In California, the rules are much more complicated, but also more favorable to employees.
For example, in California, most workers are entitled to overtime pay if they work more than 8 hours in 1 day, even if they total less than 40 hours for the week. Similarly, working 7 days in a row triggers overtime requirements, regardless of the number of hours worked.
Overtime Pay Violations
Employers may violate overtime pay requirements by:
- Underreporting hours to avoid payment of overtime rates
- Not paying time and a half for overtime hours
- Misclassifying workers as exempt to avoid overtime pay
- Improperly calculating the regular rate overtime pay is based on
If your employer isn’t properly compensating you for overtime, you have options. An experienced employment lawyer can help you fight for the compensation you deserve.
Misclassification of Employees as Independent Contractors
Classifying an employee as an independent contractor has many benefits for the employer.
- The employer isn’t responsible for payroll taxes
- Independent contractors don’t receive benefits, such as sick pay
- Independent contractors aren’t protected by minimum wage requirements, mandatory meal breaks and rest periods, or overtime pay requirements
- Independent contractors are also not protected by workers’ compensation and are not eligible for unemployment benefits based on the independent contracting position
Because of these “benefits,” many employers unfairly and illegally classify their employees as independent contractors.
Both the U.S. Internal Revenue Code and California law prohibit and provide penalties for the intentional misclassification of employees as independent contractors.
In determining whether an independent contractor should have been classified as an employee, both the state and federal government consider factors such as:
- The degree of control the employer exercises over the employee/independent contractor
- Who provides the equipment used to perform the work
- Whether the services performed are core to the business
- The duration of the arrangement
- Whether the employee/independent contractor works in the employer’s office or facility
If Your Employer Isn’t Paying You Correctly, Get Help
State and federal law provide remedies for workers whose employers don’t play by the rules. However, the mix of administrative proceedings and litigation can be complex and confusing. If you feel that your employer is violating your rights by misclassifying you, failing to pay you according to the law, or denying you appropriate meal breaks and rest periods, talk to an experienced employment lawyer right away.
Call (844) 934-1245 now to schedule a free consultation with one of our Los Angeles wage & hour violation attorneys.